Recently, a person suspected of a robbery at Valencia Town Center has been arrested. According to reports, four suspects entered the Macy’s and began picking up items and stuffing them into their waistbands.
When one of the suspects attempted to leave the store, loss prevention personnel attempted to stop him. The other three suspects converged on the loss prevention employee and a scuffle ensued during which one of the suspects dropped a shirt containing a key fob on the floor.
The suspects fled the scene before police arrived. However, thanks to the key fob left behind, law enforcement was able to track down the vehicle and find out who it belonged to. At about 3:20 pm Thursday, the suspect was arrested.
Robbery is covered under California Penal Code 211 PC and is described as “the felonious taking of personal property in the possession of another, from his person or immediate presence, and against his will, accomplished by force or fear.”
Robbery is divided into two categories: first-degree and second-degree. First-degree robbery is usually charged when
- The victim was the driver or passenger on a taxi, bus, or other similar transportation for hire
- The crime happens in an inhabited boat, trailer, or house, or
- The crime happens right after the victim uses an ATM
Second-degree robbery is charged in any other robbery case that does not meet the requirements for first-degree robbery.
Both robbery charges are considered felonies, but they have different penalties. The penalties for first-degree robbery include formal probation, 3 to 6 years in California state prison, and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Second-degree robbery penalties include formal probation, 2 to 5 years in California state prison and/or up to $10,000 in fines.
It’s possible that the suspects would have been charged with a lesser crime had they not had the altercation with the loss prevention employee.