The all-too-recent legalization of marijuana for recreational use has been a long time coming, according to many Californians, and while marijuana is technically legal, there are some rather strict rules and regulations surrounding its use, sale, and cultivation. For example, you may be able to use marijuana, but you still can’t sell it or grow it unless you’re licensed by the state to do so. Misunderstanding the legalization of marijuana can easily lead to breaking the law without intending to do so, and requiring the services of a bail bondsman to get out of jail fast.
According to California Health and Safety Code 11360 HS, it’s illegal to sell, give away, or transport into and/or out of the State of California any amount of marijuana or concentrated cannabis without a license to do so issued by the state as well as any local licenses that may be required. Those who are arrested on suspicion of violating 11360 HS will typically have their bail set at $20,000 if they are over the age of 18 and have prior convictions. If they’re over 21 and employ or otherwise use another person who is 20-years-old or younger, their bail will likely be set at $25,000. A defendant’s bail amount is set as per the 2018 Los Angeles County Bail Schedule. However, Proposition 64 makes most violations of 11360 HS a misdemeanor, meaning that it’s possible they may not need to post bail at all. Those who are the most likely to need to post bail will be defendants charged with felony offenses.
Bail can be posted for defendants facing marijuana charges 24 hours a day – including weekends and holidays.
For more information regarding Santa Clarita bail bonds, marijuana charges, or to get the bail bond process started right away, we can be reached locally any time of day or night at 661-299-2663 or toll-free at 855-728-BAIL (2245).