Domestic violence, covered under several California Penal Codes due to its broadness, is a crime that’s known as a “wobbler.” “Wobblers” are crimes that can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances of the case and the defendant’s prior criminal history.
There are five separate instances where a domestic violence charge can be charged at the felony level. They include:
- Inflicting corporal injury resulting in a traumatic condition on an intimate partner
- The DV crime was committed within 7 years of other assault/battery-related charges
- The suspect has another DV charge on their record within the past 7 years
- Causes serious bodily injury to their victim
- Commits the crime of domestic violence with an amount of force likely to cause serious injury
Just as an aside, corporal injury in California is defined as any physical injury regardless of how serious. Additionally, the “traumatic condition” refers to any wound or injury that results from the direct application of physical force. For example, a bruise after being hit could be considered a “traumatic condition.” PTSD resulting from verbal or emotional abuse may not count, as these are not physical forms of abuse.
What Is Bail Set At for Domestic Violence Charges?
For misdemeanor domestic battery without traumatic injury is $20,000, according to the 2022 Los Angeles County Infraction and Misdemeanor Bail Schedule. If you choose to bail someone out directly from the court, you’ll need to pay the full $20,000. However, working with a bail bondsman can reduce the cost of bail by as much as 90%.
Can You Get Santa Clarita Bail Bonds for Domestic Violence Charges?
Yes. If someone you know has been arrested and taken into custody on domestic violence charges, it’s possible to get them out of jail with a Santa Clarita Bail Bond. The faster you get the bail bond process started, the faster they can be released. If you need someone out of jail quickly, don’t hesitate to call any time of day or night.