On Saturday, September 26, two suspects were arrested after deputies responded to reports of a stolen vehicle. According to reports, the deputies were able to track down the vehicle in 30 minutes after finding out that it had a GPS locator system. After the stop, the deputies searched the vehicle and found narcotics and drug paraphernalia, and discovered that one of the suspects, a female, had a $200,000 warrant out for her arrest.
The suspects, a male and female, were taken to the Santa Clarita Sheriff Station to undergo booking and processing. They’re being charged with taking a vehicle without the owner’s consent and burglary – both felonies.
Taking a vehicle without the owner’s consent is covered under California Vehicle Code 10851 VC. The crime is a “wobbler,” which means that it can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances of the case and the defendant’s prior criminal history. When charged as a misdemeanor, the potential penalties include up to 1 year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000. Felony charges carry the possible penalty of up to 3 years in county jail.
Burglary is covered under California Penal Code 459 PC and is described as entering any commercial structure, residential structure, or vehicle, with the intent to commit a felony therein. The crime can be charged as either first-degree burglary (where the building that was entered was a residence) or second-degree burglary, which involves commercial properties.
The penalties for first-degree burglary include 2, 4, or 6 years in California state prison. Second-degree burglary charges include up to 3 years in county jail.