SCV Sheriff Station Report – Abuser Brought to Justice

Recently, deputies patrolling Gorman were able to help the victim of a domestic violence situation. According to a post on the SCV Sheriff Station Facebook page:

When a Colorado man allegedly tried to choke his girlfriend in a Hollywood motel room back on Aug. 28, 2019, he tried to escape justice.

The following day, on Aug. 29, the suspect reportedly loaded the victim up in his vehicle and hit the road. During his travel, he stopped in the town of Gorman, 100 miles away from the motel, to get lunch. He probably felt it was an isolated, remote place where it would be difficult for the victim to get help. He obviously didn’t know we have deputies assigned to watch over Gorman. The victim went to the restroom at the restaurant and used the opportunity to call 911 for help. It was a matter of minutes before one of our Gorman deputies showed up at the restaurant where the suspect and the victim were sitting at the table with their food. The Gorman deputy swiftly took the suspect into custody and contacted the law enforcement agency in the City of Los Angeles where the crime occurred. Last Wednesday, Jan. 7, the suspect was sentenced to two years in State Prison.

Just remember, ‘The Bear Goes Everywhere.’

While the exact charges being faced by the subject weren’t mentioned in the post, it’s possible that he was charged with violating California Penal Code 273.5 PC – corporal injury on a spouse or cohabitant. Under this law, it is illegal to willfully inflict “corporal injury on a spouse or cohabitant.” “Corporal” injury means any physical injury, whether minor or major, such as those inflicted while choking someone.

Corporal injury on a spouse is a “wobbler” offense that can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the defendant’s prior criminal history and the facts surrounding the case. If charged as a misdemeanor, the possible penalties include up to 1 year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $6,000. If charged as a felony, the potential penalties include two to four years in California state prison and/or a fine of up to $6,000.