Canyon Country lightsaber thieves are on the loose, and detectives from the Santa Clarita Sheriff Station are looking to find them. On February 10th, thieves broke in to a garage on Rock Rose Lane in Canyon Country and stole $1,800 worth of lightsabers.
Deputies also responded to a call on Wednesday, February 22nd to two burglary suspects seen on Fahren Court, near where the lightsaber heist took place earlier in the month. Unfortunately, there was no evidence to suggest the two burglary suspects had anything to do with the previous theft on Rock Rose Lane.
Currently, Santa Clarita Sheriff Station detectives are asking anyone with information to call 661-255-1121.
Burglary is covered under California Penal Code 459 PC and is described as entering any residential or commercial building with the intention of carrying out a California felony, a grand theft or a petty theft once inside. Burglary is divided into first-degree burglary and second-degree burglary. First-degree burglary is usually charged when someone enters a residence, while second-degree burglary deals with any other type of structure.
Under California’s burglary laws, a residence is described as:
- An inhabited house
- A room within an inhabited house
- An inhabited boat
- An inhabited floating home
- An inhabited trailer coach
- An inhabited portion of any other kind of building or
- An inhabited hotel or motel room
Basically, a residence is anywhere that people are currently living/staying.
First-degree burglary is always a felony under California law. The punishments include: formal probation, two to six years in California state prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Second-degree burglary is not necessarily always going to be charged as a felony. Whether it’s charged as a felony or misdemeanor will depend on the circumstances of the case. If charged as a misdemeanor, the possible penalties include: misdemeanor probation, up to 1 year in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. If charged as a felony, the possible penalties include: felony probation, sixteen months to 3 years in county jail and/or a $10,000 fine.